Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 General help me questions
 Ecommerce - Need guidance on where to start
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

gdv0303
Starting Member

Canada
4 Posts

Posted - January 16 2007 :  13:30:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new to setting up an ecommerce site. I am not new to software development though...

Here is my warped frame-of-mind question. Do I start with building a shopping-cart and integrate that into my my site

OR

do I start with the web site and try to make the shopping cart look and feel the same as the web site?

I just don't want to waste my time on doing it the wrong way.

Edited by - gdv0303 on January 16 2007 13:32:26

Scooter
VP-CART New User

USA
102 Posts

Posted - January 16 2007 :  14:49:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello

I did both ways and found easier to use shopping cart for whole site.

I build intranet for my work and it was first inserted into existing site which work ok but when we did upgrade we decide to use shopping cart for ewverything. Content pages too now in shopping cart so all can be updated in one place.

When you have your own site you can do easy though too as VP-ASP have 2 templates to use you can add your code to.

Just need to no a bit of HTML and you can do it I think pretty easy.

Thanx
Scoota
Go to Top of Page

gdv0303
Starting Member

Canada
4 Posts

Posted - January 16 2007 :  15:13:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for your response...

Where can I find the templates you refer to?

Also, after doing the admin setup, where is the shopping cart ASP file kept so I can work with it and tweek it?

Edited by - gdv0303 on January 16 2007 15:16:37
Go to Top of Page

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - January 16 2007 :  17:12:55  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi there,