Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Customization
 Dreamweaver 8 help
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

liking
Starting Member

9 Posts

Posted - October 02 2006 :  22:40:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,
I am new to dreamweaver and vpasp shopping cart. Can you guys help me out how to modify the front page (default.asp)? When I use dreamweaver to open shoppage_header.htm, only the vpasp logo display properly, the rest all I see jus a asp dots/samples. Is that suppose to be? or do I need to setup dreamweaver in order to display shoppage_header.htm properly? Thanks for your hlep.

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - October 03 2006 :  00:58:04  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi there,

It happens because you are in Design mode in Dreamweaver and you need to switch to Code mode to see.

To do it go to the top menu->View and select Code option or use tabs "Code", "Split", "Design" which are located under file name to switch between different views.

Michael
VPASP SUPPORT
Go to Top of Page

elammers
VP-CART Super User

USA
256 Posts

Posted - October 03 2006 :  09:05:04  Show Profile  Visit elammers's Homepage  Reply with Quote
To elaborate a bit, layout is controlled by tables in VP-ASP and portions of the outside tables are in the header file while other portions are in the files below. Therefore, when you open up just one of those files in design view, Dreamweaver is only seeing the first chunk of the table code; therefore, whacky look.

So as support posted, you really need to dive into it via code or split view.

Regards,

Eric in Maine
Go to Top of Page

liking
Starting Member

9 Posts

Posted - October 03 2006 :  22:46:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for your help!
Maybe I need to learn more about dreamweaver and the vpasp shopping cart first before to modify the front page.