Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Problems and bugs
 Bug in Tax processing w/discount- I think ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

inkjets-n-toner
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - July 18 2006 :  08:31:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a newbie with VPASP so maybe I'm missing something here - but here it goes.

Here's the setup:
coupon with % discount
Order going to state with tax

buy any item and get to checkout page.

if you have something populated in xtaxexcludeproducts (i.e. gift certificate value 99999)- then tax is calculated on total order value.
if xtaxexcludeproducts is null - then tax is calculated on discounted value.

this is regardless of the xtaxdiscount setting - being set to Yes or No and NO tex excluded item is in the cart.

Seems to me - when you check if the config is setup for any tax exclude items and then recalculate the new subtotal you do not re-apply the discount value. you only apply the tax on the recalculated subtotal.

Let me know what you think !

inkjets-n-toner
Starting Member

15 Posts

Posted - July 19 2006 :  10:51:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can I get an answer from support ?
I'm about to go live with my site and need to understand the fix.
I'll reiterate the problem 1 more time.

running 6.08 version of VPASP - windows based.

I have an order that is going to be charged sales tax sitting in the cart. I have a discount coupon applied for a percentage discount. If I have my system configured for tax free gift certificates (as it should be - xtaxexcludecategories=99999) - then when the system calculates sales tax - it calculates it against the pre-discounted total (which is wrong!) - it should calculate tax on the post discounted total. All I did was change the xtaxexcludecategories setting ( xtaxexcludecategories=NULL) then the tax calculated properly. I did not change the xtaxdiscount setting at all - between the 2 tests.