Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Customization
 Adding a table/column in shoppage_header
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

khaskins
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - October 25 2005 :  14:45:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am trying to add a column on the left side of my shoppage_header.htm for navigation purposes. When I try to add the table/column, the categories/products are pushed to where the bottom of my added table would be. They are centered, but if I put links in the column, it will push the products/categories further down the page. I am new to ASP. I have some HTML. Can anyone recommend anything??

Thank you

devshb

United Kingdom
1904 Posts

Posted - October 25 2005 :  16:27:56  Show Profile  Visit devshb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If you're new to asp, then you might find our panel-splitter for vpasp useful:

http://bigyellowzone.com/shopexd.asp?id=26

we use that for tons of sites/clients as it makes things hugely easier/quicker.

with the problem you mention above, it's probably that you need to add:

valign="top"

to the column definition.

Simon Barnaby
Developer
[email protected]
www.BigYellowZone.com
Web Design, Online Marketing and VPASP addons

Edited by - devshb on October 25 2005 16:36:55
Go to Top of Page

greatphoto
VP-CART Super User

USA
304 Posts

Posted - October 25 2005 :  22:21:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There are many ways to do this. One modern recommended technique is with CSS. The older standard that is still widely used is to use tables, as it sounds you are trying. The panel-splitter product offered by Simon might be exactly what you need if you are not experienced at programming and want a simple solution with good support. I have not used it myself, but Bigyellowzone products are reputable and provide key solutions to shop owners needs. (Another way to do a side menu is frames, but that is NOT desirable.)