Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 General help me questions
 Second Website Installation Problem
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jeberlan
Starting Member

13 Posts

Posted - September 04 2004 :  14:24:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I can't get write permission on a second ODBC.
I've been using VPASP for about 5 months for a client. I now want to duplicate this site on my dev PC for another client. I've created a new virtual site under IIS and copy/pasted the first site. Then setup a new database in the same folder as the original site. The original site still passes all the permissions tests, but the new one gives me this:
Database Read Database can be read
Database Write Database cannot be written
Verify that the database is in a folder that has both read and write access
Microsoft Message
Open Messages
[Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver's SQLSetConnectAttr failed

Error count=2
Error #-2147467259
Error desc. -> [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Cannot update. Database or object is read-only.
Error #-2147217887
Error desc. -> Multiple-step OLE DB operation generated errors. Check each OLE DB status value, if available. No work was done.
Database Permissions Database permissions tested OK

I changed the odbc to the original db and I get the same result.
These are independant sites and will be on different hosts, but I need this working on my pc to test the sites.

lynch
VP-CART New User

USA
74 Posts

Posted - September 07 2004 :  07:54:09  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Check the security properties on the folder where you have the database. The IIS process user ID doesn't have write access to that folder. That ID is something like IWAM_[servername]. Make sure that ID has the right permissions, and everything should be fine.

Go to Top of Page

Cam
VP-CART Super User

Australia
361 Posts