Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Customization
 I need an idiot''s guide to display templates
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

roryg
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - March 19 2004 :  12:41:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I used to be a programmer back in the days when Basic was thought to be complicated.
Does anyone know where I can get an idiot's guide to changing templates, specifically in reference to product display, and the cart?
I have the various guides, but they aren't specific enough.
I have over a hundred products, and each of them requires a long description and up to 5 features each. When I click on a category my customers will be forced to scroll through pages and pages to find what they want. My experience is that they refuse to do that, so you lose customers. I need a line item listing with links to buy or get more info.
Any help with a how-to document, sample templates, or even where to buy one, would be greatly appreciated.
I like the product, but wish there were more built-in templates that allowed for different business models.

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - March 19 2004 :  13:11:38  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Basically a template is just plain HTML. Soe place in that HTML you want some dynamic information such as a price or description. In that cae you would put

[cname] to display the product name
[formatcurrency cprice] to display the price

The items in brackers are either field names in the products table or someties they are special controls to do complicated tasks. The special controls are listed in the Developer's guide and Option Package Guide