Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Customization
 adding a checkbox
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pokornyb
Starting Member

USA
9 Posts

Posted - September 27 2006 :  11:36:39  Show Profile  Visit pokornyb's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I would like to add a checkbox field to the customer's check out. THis field would be part of the order.

The checkbox would ask "Please send samples"

Im new to this software, any help would be wonderful

Brian
[email protected]

BP

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - September 28 2006 :  23:57:40  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
You can create a "Please send samples" checkbox, to be associated with a customer's record, by using 'xcustomerotherbypass'.

See this help note for more detail:
https://www.vpasp.com/helpnotes/shoptocdetail.asp?id=21#148

First, you must MANUALLY insert a new field into the customer table. VP-ASP cannot do this for you.
We have called our new field "samplereq".

To add a checkbox called "samplereq" to the customer form.
Set the following in the Shop Configuration:

'Xcustomerotherfields' samplereq
'Xcustomerothercaptions' Please send samples
'Xcustomerotherbypass' samplereq

Now edit shopcustomerform.asp and MANUALLY place your own checkbox into the file:

The following example code shows this. Locate the following lines in shopcustomerform.asp -

AddOtherFields
AddPassword

Beneath them, insert the following code to 'add a checkbox':
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
'checkbox for "send samples" selection
Response.write tablerow & tablecolumn
Response.write "Please send samples " & TablecolumnEnd
Response.write tablecolumn
%>
<input type=checkbox name=samplereq value=True ><%
Response.write tablecolumnend & tableRowend
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -