Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Customization
 Revamping shopdisplayproducts & productfeatures
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

epseja
VP-CART New User

USA
61 Posts

Posted - December 01 2004 :  21:25:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello! I'm brand new to VP ASP, but not to Web Design. I'm a fair programmer (I can pick apart code and figure out how it works for the most part), but am having problems figuring out the mechanics behind certain aspects of VP ASP. Here is what I am trying to accomplish:

Firstly, I want to take the standard layout of shopdisplayproducts.asp and have it display only three columns in each row, all contents being clickable to the appropriate details page where all of the ordering can be done:

Item Name with Price | Item Thumbnail | Graphical DETAILS Button

Secondly, I want to take the productfeatures pulldown menus that display on the details page and have them display side by side instead of on top of one another.

I have looked high and low for a place to customize these (including within these forums), and have tried a few things to no avail.

Any help would be most appreciated!

uncle dewey
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - December 02 2004 :  10:41:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm relatively new to VPASP (3 months of hacking it) as well. So telling you exactly how to do something like this is one, way too much typing and two I'd probably leave something out. Besides I like teaching people how to fish.

That said, the best thing that you can do is write a search program that looks in each page and gives you the line number of where a call to a procedure is located and the procedure itself. Also understand that VPASP uses collections (arrays) a lot. If you don't have a grasp on that you're in a mess.