Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Comments about VP-ASP
 Poor Design and Developers Documentation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lochness
Starting Member

South Africa
3 Posts

Posted - July 21 2009 :  10:40:55  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a super newbie with regard to VP-ASP. Having just purchased my first version for a client, I was pleased to see that it offered pretty much everything my client needed.

I am however really struggling with the lack of Design and Developers documentation. The 15 page design guide gives a great beginners guide but leaves one hanging and completely unsure as where to go next.

I am not a newbie to ASP but I can't seem to figure out the structure of the package and as a result am too afraid to change anything in case I muck something else up. I can't work out how to change templates and have been mucking around with the MySQL settings for two days. (Yes and I have logged a ticket).

More than anything I find the lack of a good knowledgebase the most frustrating thing. Most applications I have dealt with have a collection (byt collection I mean for that 20 documents) of solutions to common problems which can be accessed by registered users. Its seems the common response in the forum is: (Surprise Surprise) Log a ticket at the helpdesk.

Now I know everybody has to make money and we get points when we purchase a package but the rather unhelpful 'paste your server details into the block' answers delay one from moving forward with a package that advertises itself as very easy to setup and get going. By remote fixing the package I am learning even less about the package because someone else is repairing my site for me.

I have been struggling to get VP-ASP configured, designed, setup and looking pretty for two weeks and would just like to see a single document or forum post that does not leave one hanging and feeling lost.

support