Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 Add-ons for VP-ASP
 Wish list/future order add on?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Phoenix
Starting Member

23 Posts

Posted - January 11 2003 :  17:01:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

I'm a total novice when it comes to ASP and am only starting to set up VPASP for our site but one feature I'd love to set up is a Wish List/Future Orders section where the customer can enter products to their account that they are going to be ordering and a date when they might be ordering them which would also notify us so we can be sure to have them in stock for when they do place it. Does anyone have anything similar on their site or have any idea (in really basic language) of how I might set this feature up? This would save us a lot of hassle with back orders so if anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Superal
VP-CART Expert

Canada
542 Posts

Posted - January 12 2003 :  12:40:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
All you need is a smacker to repeatedly fill in the wish list and now you have a whole lot of dead product. Jerks will do anything.
Managing inventory and predicting requirements is a real trick. What you need is good back end reporting with quantities over a time line. With the best sellers first and on down. Now you can formulate a prediction as to future requirements. Which must be relative to the products you are selling. Shelf life, obsolete quickly, seasonality all come into the equation. This all takes time to bring up to speed if you are just beginning to sell.